The Parlour, Edginswell. Torquay
Forming Part Of Local History Is This 2 Bedroom Grade II Listed Thatched Barn Conversion That Has Been Refurbished To A High Standard
The Parlour is the oldest part of the barn complex and was used as a milking parlour into the 1960’s. The 4 holes in the wall are “bee boles” which were used to house straw bee hives called Skeps and are noted on the national bee bole register. The accommodation which which has been refurbished to a very high standard to include new kitchen, bathroom, oak veneer doors, oak flooring downstairs and new heating system with the accommodation briefly comprising spacious reception hallway with downstairs cloakroom/wc, sitting room with french doors, quality modern fitted kitchen/diner with built-in appliances. On the first floor there is a galleried style landing, 2 double bedrooms with both having en suite facilities and the master benefiting from a walk-in dressing room. Outside there is allocated parking for 2 cars and easy to maintain courtyard style garden.
The first recorded purchase of the barns believed to be 1773 when they were bought from a retired sea captain called Codnor, the property was described on the deeds as “a set of old barns”, an archaeological survey has dated them to about 1700 or late jacobian, the Codnor family owned the barns until early 2000. The property occupies what feels to be a semi rural residential position but is within easy walking distance of local public house on the Newton Road where there will be a new Edginswell train stop that connects Newton Abbot, Exeter and London beyond. It is also within easy reach of The Willows with their array of shops, facilities and amenities and also within close reach to the newly constructed by-pass which connects Newton Abbot, Exeter and the M5 beyond. An internal inspection is highly recommended to appreciate the size, position and condition the accommodation boasts.